Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Historical background

This webside is under construction

The Department of Bioscience is the result of a merger of the former Department of Biology, AU, and five groups of researchers from the former National Environmental Research Institute (NERI): Department of Freshwater Ecology, Department of Terrestrial Ecology, Department of Arctic Environment, Department of Wildlife Biology and Biodiversity and Department of Marine Ecology.

The National Environmental Research Institute became a part of Aarhus University on 1 January 2007, and in March 2011 it was merged with the Department of Biology under the former Faculty of Science. As part of the merger, the interdisciplinary coordination - previously handled by the former National Environmental Research Institute - concerning applied research and dissemination in the field of nature and the environment was passed on to a newly established centre at Aarhus University: DCE - Danish Centre for Environment and Energy The centre serves as an access point for government agencies, industry, interest organisations and the public to the academic environments at Aarhus University in the fields of nature, environment and energy. The centre, among other sources, draws on research from the Department of Bioscience.

The Department of Bioscience forms part of the Faculty of Science and Technology. Follow the links to read more about the history of the former Faculty of Science and the National Environmental Research Institute