Aarhus University Seal

About Biology

Approximately 130 scientific staff members and 70 technical and administrative staff members were employed at Department of Biology in 2018.

Our research encompasses the following eight research areas:

The History of the Department

The history of the department dates back to 1959 when the first professor of zoology was appointed. Hereafter basic teaching in zoology and botany was offered, the first candidates graduated in 1970, and a true “Department of Biology” was established in 1976.

In 2011 a large ‘Department of Bioscience’ was created by merging the former Institute of Biology with five departments originating from the public sector research institute “National Environmental Research Institute”. Eight years after, in February 2019, it was decided to split the Faculty of Science and Technology (ST) into two new faculties. In this process, Department of Bioscience was also split in two, so that a part of the department is now part of Faculty of Natural Sciences under the name Department of Biology, and the rest is part of Faculty of Technical Sciences and is named Department of Ecoscience.